2017 Winners

SSSFF Winners: Ian Tran, Best Doco West; Robert P. Fantozzi, Best Comedy and People’s Choice; Jessica Hutchison, Best Tertiary; Cr. Catherine Cumming City of Maribyrnong Mayor; Festival Director Anna Bourozikas; Lester and Aaron Ellis, Best Film 2017, Best Short Feature West, Screenplay and Director; Simone Giampaolo, Best Animation; Charby Ibrahim, Best Doco Metro and Best Film Cultural Diversity.
L- R Host Janet McLeod; Festival Director Anna Bourozikas; Winner Highly Commended, Cian Bennett; Winner Best Film Secondary Student, Alexander Fasso; Nelson Dean, Thilan Ahangama; Dr Rob Brown. VU Executive Director External Relations; Sierra McLachlan and Sam Johnston.


















HIGHLY COMMENDED The Prince of Chinatown, Patrick Mooney


  • Best Short Feature Spill, Aaron L. Ellis 
  • Best Documentary Olympic Nick – A Donutumentary, Ian Tran and Rachel Morssink 
  • Best Director Aaron L. Ellis, Spill
  • Best Screenplay Aaron L. Ellis, Spill


  • Best Short Feature Metro Goodnight Sweetheart, Bec Peniston Bird
  • Best Documentary Metro The Jolly Swagman, Charby Ibrahim


  • Rouge – Dressmaker Award Best Film By A Female Filmmaker Marina Bonofiglio, The Uncomfortable Sexy Rules of Truco
  • Rouge – Highly Commended Delfina Jauregialzo, Maybe Next Time
  • Best Acting Performance Gillian Jones, Goodnight Sweetheart
  • Best Animation, More Stuff,Simone Giampaolo,
  • Best Comedy Autocarrot,Robert P.Fantozzi & Conor A.Woods
  • Best Tertiary No Measure of Health, Jessica Hutchison
  • Best Secondary The Goldfish Bowl, Alex Fasso


  • Best Film Overall, sponsored by Sun Theatre Spill, Aaron L.Ellis
  • Best Film Cultural Diversity, sponsored by the City of Maribyrnong The Jolly Swagman, Charby Ibrahim
  • People’s Choice, sponsored by Sun Theatre AutoCarrot, Robert P. Fantozzi and Conor A. Woods.
Please like & share: