The eighth annual Setting Sun Film Festival

The eighth annual Setting Sun Film Festival


The Rouge Program and Best Film by a Female Filmmaker Award

The international female filmmakers’ program, The Rouge, was introduced in 2015 to boost female filmmaking in Australia.  The winner will receive $1000. 

However, to be eligible for the Rouge Program, a film needs two females (or female identifying) in the following roles: screenwriter, director, producer. It was won in 2019 by Lara Köse, for her film ‘Kaya’, which also won the Setting Sun Best Film Award 2019. Our 2020 winner, selected by film producer Sue Maslin from Film Art Media, will be revealed in January when we screen our postponed festival.

Enter here.










Victoria University logo
maribyrnong city council logo
kindred studios
sun theatre yarraville logo
film art media logo
film freeway logo