The Setting Sun Film Festival

The Setting Sun Film Festival

The Setting Sun Film Festival

Setting Sun Film Festival



Films will be judged and the finalist/winners announced on the website prior to the festival starting. The judges are a small group of media and film teachers, and industry professionals experienced in judging and making films. Judges will shortlist films individually before choosing the finalists and the winner in each category.  Judges will watch the shortlisted films separately and rate them out of ten. The film with the highest points in its category wins. The finalists and winners in each category will listed on the website.

Films must be no longer than 20 minutes from opening to closing credits. Films made from the 1st December 2017 can be entered until midnight 31st January, 2020. Films cannot be entered after this date without approval. For more information please check terms and conditions. 

Apart from the female only and secondary school kids’ program, our categories are open to everyone.

The Setting Sun Award categories are:

We also give out a series of Highly Commended Awards.

Films will be evaluated for the following:

Feature Films: To be considered a feature length film, your film must be at least 60 minutes long and  have at least 51% Australian financing, and preferably not have had a Victorian screening, if so it must be limited. Please contact the office to discuss.

Best Cultural Diversity will be determined by the judges:  The Cultural Diversity Award seeks to recognise a film that through its use of subject, actors, story, or themes, directly or indirectly explores or promotes cultural diversity. For example, race, age, religion, gender or sexuality.

People’s Choice: Voting for the People’s Choice award will occur on the Opening Night when the finalists are shown. 

Best Short Film From a Web Series may be of any genre but filmmaker can only submit one film

The Rouge Program must have a female, or female identifying, in two of the following roles: screenwriter, producer,director 

Film Art Media Award For Best Film By A Female Director: sponsored by Sue Maslin and chosen by Sue and other judges.